Do you remember some of the “firsts” in your life…I remember some…mostly when I was older…my first kiss…my first time…my first day of college…first day of work…

Remember the nervousness….that lost breath…that rapid heartbeat…that joy or love…

I am finding being a parent….I get to relive those moments….watching them in my child…somehow its better than I ever remembered….somehow it means more…somehow these are the ones I want to remember until I leave this earth…

It has been a week of firsts around here….after many struggles and a couple of years of defeat…I watched her finally take off on her bike…on her own…I felt my tears hit my cheek as they always do when I feel her experience things…I heard the determination in her voice that this was it…I heard her tell me to let go…I saw the smile…I see it every day now as if overnight she thinks she might forget so she has to hop on and be sure….

This is our first year of softball….3 games later….6 times at bat…she has struck out…I saw the disappointment…I comfort…reminding her to give it time…then tonight…cold and damp out…sitting and freezing watching her…I hear the bat connect….her run…they got her out at first base but didnt matter…she had her first hit…I saw her eyes reach mine and again the tears hit my cheek….the smile hit her face….and mine….after the game…she had this whole new sound to her voice as she said…I didnt even care they got me out mommy….I hit it…the laughter…unlike laughter I had ever heard…it touched me so deeply….

Its been a week of rainbows here after a storm….a week of getting settled even more in our new home…it will wrap up with another first this weekend…she goes on an overnight girl scout adventure…I hope it brings more of the joy we have had so far….I am reminded of my days of girl scout camps….the campfires….stories…pranks we played…somehow though…I still think hearing about hers will be even more special….

First moments….memories in our hearts…

Hugs and kisses

Leave a Reply

