Mothers Day 2010

 
Mothers Day 2010
I worked…nights….I knew she had plans for me so I went straight home and went to bed….an hour and a half later…I hear her giggle…heading up the stairs…w/ my tray…breakfast was served and all I could really see was her smile….proud….happy…
She ate beside me….we shared….split a banana…then it was time for her gifts….the secret ones she brought home from school and had hidden….the one he had taken her to do at an art place…I was surprised at how well she had kept them secret…she is terrible at secrets…

She had painted me a jewelry box….in the shape of flip flops….signing the bottom…painting her fingertips….dating it…it was beautiful…then I opened the card….her writing…her hearts…then the school gifts she had made…her telling me how long and hard she had worked on these…

The most precious decorated card….filled w/ love….and a book…like a little journal….colored and illustrated w/ butterflies all over the front and back covers…filled w/ her handwriting of things she loved about me….things we shared as mother and daughter….her hand prints w/ each finger filled in with the 10 coolest things about your mom…the tears fell down my face…

You know…we love our children always….we know on days like today they are going to plan and do and say things to express it….but you still cant prepare for that moment….when you see their heart expressed in words or pictures or artwork….when  you see their eyes watching you for your approval….when  you feel their hand on  yours and their little voice saying how much they love you….you always know it in  your heart but it overwhelms you when it happens…

I was overwhelmed today….with so much love and joy I can not even explain….I only know…

I love being a mom….more specifically…

I love being “her” mom…my light in my sky…my smile in my heart…

Thank you Kristen….for filling my heart today….to overflowing…

the picture above is my daughter and my mother….

Happy Mothers Day to all mothers and hope you all had a day of love and joy.

 

Reflections of A Mother (auther unknown)

 

I gave you life,
but cannot live it for you.

 I can give you directions,
but I cannot be there to lead you.

 I can take you to church,
but I cannot make you believe.

 I can teach you right from wrong,
but I cannot always decide for you.

 I can buy you beautiful clothes,
but I cannot make you beautiful inside.

 

I can offer you advice,
but I cannot accept it for you.
 
I can give you love,
but I cannot force it upon you.

 I can teach you to share,
but I cannot make you unselfish.

 

I can teach you respect,
but I cannot force you to show honor.
 
I can advise you about friends,
but cannot choose them for you.
 
I can advise you about sex,
but I cannot keep you pure.
 
I can tell you about alcohol & drugs,
but I can’t say “No” for you.

 

I can tell you about lofty goals,
but I can’t achieve them for you.
 
I can teach you about kindness,
but I can’t force you to be gracious

 I can pray for you,
but I cannot make you walk with God.

I can tell you how to live,
but I cannot give you eternal life.
 
I can love you with unconditional love all of
my life… and I will.

 

 
 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

