The Realization

We walked along the shore….my daughter and I…the sun was warm on our shoulders…her laughter made my heart sing as it always did…collecting shells…kicking our feet at the waters edge… and each moment was precious…just the two of us…no real destination for either of us…just walking…no particular direction…but together…it did not really matter…her hand in mine…we could go and do anything…my life was happy…

I did not focus on what was behind us…it did not matter…what mattered was her and I…and to keep the smile on her face…for me…that was enough…it truly was…

We would run across others…they would walk along w/ us for a bit…I enjoyed their company…but after a time…they would want to stop and no…we would want to continue…we would smile politely and move on.

I saw something one day…the colors of its beauty flashed in the sun and for once…I wanted to stop and see what was catching my eye…we headed off our usual path…a new direction…and what began to lay out before our eyes…immediately brought squeals of delight from my daughter…and made the smile on my face grow wider…

This couldnt be happening…I had never seen anything like this before…green plush fields began to roll out in front of me…flowers blooming everywhere…butterflies lighting…here and there…everywhere…birds singing…my daughter began singing…skipping even as we approached closer…I stepped cautiously as I watched in almost disbelief…she on the other hand…went without fear…and when we saw him…standing there in the middle of the field…warm soft eyes looked at us…both of us…and they welcomed us…I began to shake a little…suddenly doubt and fear crept over me…this was too good to be true…there had to be something wrong with this picture…didnt it?

I held my daughters hand…and we kept our distance…we smelled the flowers…we chased the butterflies…we rolled in the softness of the velvety grass…we stared at the sky and laughed as we described the shapes of the clouds to one another…I held her to me and we sang…lullabyes and silly songs…and he watched us but did not approach…maybe knowing I would run if he did…but I could always see him…my daughter began waving to him daily…smiling and blowing him kisses…I even found myself smiling at him also…feeling safe here…both of us…

A strong wind picked up one day…I wondered what we would do…the skies began to darken…my heart beat faster…I picked my daughter up in my arms and began to look for shelter…I had to protect her..my eyes darted this way and that…unsure of which way I should take her…and then I realized what I was doing…I was looking for him…somehow I knew…he would protect her….and me….

He was moving quickly across the field…when he reached me…the wind was whipping at our bodies…my daughter grabbed him around the neck as he took her from me…without question she went to him…I looked at her and then…I looked into his eyes…and suddenly…I felt nothing around us…I saw nothing…but the three of us…the drops of rain broke me out of my trance as they began to hit my arms…and suddenly the three of us…laughed…our laughter rang out across the fields…and we ran…the rain began to pour down on us…but we continued to laugh…holding on to each other…

A beautiful little cottage….a light in the window….there….by the big oak tree…we headed there…he put my daughter down on the porch as he opened the door….warm and inviting…just like his eyes…my daughter ran in like she had been there a hundred times…I stopped in the doorway…and when he reached his hand out to me…I stepped inside and then I smiled…everything in its place…and for a moment…and I think only he saw it…a tear went down my cheek as the realization hit me…maybe it was just a raindrop…but I was sure he saw it…I just knew…

As the door closed behind me…and I saw my daughter smile at me w/ that face full of love…and I looked at him….smiling with that warmth that began sweeping over me…I knew where we were…all three of us…

We were home….

4 thoughts on “The Realization

  1. saffy says:

    ~sighs~ Home IS where the heart is…as always, a joy to read you sweetness…xxx

  2. Duma Key says:

    Powerful post, well written drawing emotion from with in. Love not an Idea I aspire to, but your description provides a warmth from the cold.
    The thing that always draws a power for me from your blogs is that pure simple love and evotion for your daughter, having never seen this before, never known that bond…often when I come here are read your words, I feel like atheif in the night peaking in through the window of a life, a world I never knew, nor even knew existed. Your daughter is blessed to have a mother such as you.

    • summerrain63 says:

      you are so kind Duma….you are such an amazing writer that it humbles me when you visit….thank you…

      and ummm…..be careful peeking in my windows…..you might see more than you wish….hehehehe…just teasing…you are always welcome….

Leave a Reply

