Turtle Dreams

My daughter is becoming a very good reader in first grade. We have moved up to reading chapter books. This past week we spent reading a book which I absolutely loved….it was called “Turtle Dreams” and being as I am a dreamer…it touched me…

A turtle was told to prepare for winter….to gather his winter dreams…he had never done this before so he didnt know what to do…where would he find these winter dreams so before the winter hit…off he went to search for his dreams…

He came upon several different animals along the way….asking each of them what their dreams were….

An otter….who dreamed of sliding down icy hills and doing flips…

A bird…who dreamed of flying for the first time….feeling the drop and then the lift to the sky..

A squirrel…who dreamed of climbing a large tree and eating nuts on the highest branch…

Each time the turtle told himself that he could never do these things…..these could not possibly be dreams for himself so he plodded off to continue his search….saddened more and more as winter approached and he had no dreams to carry…

He finally went home as winter was fast upon them….he swam to the bottom and buried himself in mud….sure that he would not survive winter with no dreams of his own…

But….the turtle dreamed….dreams like no other….not only did he dream all the dreams of the other animals….but he slid faster…he flew higher….climbed higher….and the nuts he ate tasted of sunshine and gold…

Then he dreamed of being himself….a turtle….sunning on a rock swishing his tail….stretching his neck to the sun….and he was happy….with his own turtle dreams…

 

I just loved that story…..smiles

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Turtle Dreams

  1. Jaymie says:

    Thank you for sharing such a lovely story. I’ll have to hunt that one down for my nephews and niece. 🙂

    • summerrain63 says:

      I like those books with a message….I found this old old book at a flea market once…copyright was like in the 1940’s….it was called “The Little White Bunny who Wanted Red Wings” about this lil bunny who wasnt happy w/ himself…always wanting to be like someone else…so he wished at a wishing well for red wings…then no one not even his mother recognized him and he was alone…then he got stuck in a thorn bush because he didnt know how to fly….so when he discovered how to wish himself back to himself….he did and he learned never to want to be anyone but himself…

      I loved that thing….it sits on my nightstand….lol…ok…done babbling….

  2. J says:

    A dear friend suggested to me a while back that I may enjoy reading some children’s books and based on this truly heart warming story I think she is right. Thank you so much for reminding me of this and for sharing this story. I shall look for this book for myself….. 🙂

  3. Jaymie says:

    I’ve been doing some catch up work over at my blog. Please stop by my Unexpected Gifts tab and check out the Happy Times post. I know not everyone participates but I wanted you to know that your blog makes my day brighter.

  4. tobeme says:

    A lovely story! We must allow ourselves to dream our dreams!

  5. saffy says:

    One of my greatest joys has been sharing my love of books with my children & have often found the ones that make the greatest impact, are the ones with such messages…thank you for sharing sweetness…i loved it too. ~hugs~ xxx

  6. Samantha says:

    Hello! I’ve received the “Sunshine Award” for my poetry blog, and am passing it a long to your blog. You are more than deserving…. and I hope you have a great day. =)
    For details see:
    http://poemsbysam.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/sunshine-blog-award/

  7. enreal says:

    Summer~ you warmed my heart with this tale… as of late I have been struggling with my dreams… thank you for filling my heart

  8. Terri says:

    I just love childrens books they have such great messages…thank you for sharing this one with us!!! 🙂

  9. souldose says:

    I love this and hopefully I can get it for my nephew these holidays. It’s a process, first I convince mom Ndu I need money for something huge, then I send my sister to get the book and keep her mouth shut, ha ha ha.

Leave a Reply

