Six Years Deep

Just a little blog for my baby…some memories…

Her words make me laugh….they make me cry….they make me proud…they make me look at her in amazement….they make me happy….and then sometimes….I look at her and my jaw drops…and I wonder….where does she get it???

When she has to go to her dads and he hurts her feelings…she goes to her room there to cry or reflect…she told me…she talks to my Carrie…my niece who was killed….I said you do?? yea she says…and if I dont think Carrie is there…I leave a message with God to give to her….I smiled and my body got warm all over…

This past weekend…after returning home from family visits…nothing scary had happened on our trip…no scary movies watched….but as we lie together in bed she says mommy….can I tell you something….if a burglar broke into our house and I had to choose between you or me to live….I would choose you Mommy because I love you so much…

That one hit me by surprise…what?? what did you say??? oh baby dont  you know you never have to worry about that…and she repeated it saying…what if it did?? I would want you to live Mommy….

My daughter basically conveying that she would die for me…I cried in the dark not letting her know how deeply that affected me…I held her face and told her to not ever think of those things…it would never happen…and if by some chance it did…I would want her to live…I am old and have lived my life…she still has much to experience and learn…and I held her tight knowing in my heart…there is no greater or more true love than the love you have for your child…

but then….lol…watching a movie I reached for the remote on the floor and smacked the side of my head right on the corner of the nightstand….I wailed out in pain….she cried…afraid I was hurt…ouch…

The next day combing my hair….I said oh my gosh my head is sore….feels bruised where I had hit it….there went my daughter flitting by and with a wave of her hand….looked back at me and said…

Oh…you will live….

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “Six Years Deep

  1. Shadowplay says:

    Dissolving in tears here… I could so relate to this… A few days ago, my son said something, just looked so cute, that I started crying from sheer love.

    These little ones tug on our hearts and give us so much unconditional love, it is stunning. You have described it so well… thank you for sharing such a beautiful moment. What a daughter you have!

  2. lifethroughgreeneyes says:

    Shadowplay…..she has a magnificent daughter….and she is the most incredible mother and role model i have ever had the pleasure and joy of knowing….she is a beautiful moment ….

  3. Jaymie says:

    This is delightful and makes me want to go and hug my grown boys who will think I have lost my mind again! 🙂 The painting is amazing!

  4. Bill Howdle says:

    Our children and then grandchildren in turn give us the most precious moments in life. Often the little moments stay treasured in our minds forever.
    Great post
    Bill

    • summerrain63 says:

      Thank you Bill for stopping by…and I read of the little fingerprints on the window on your page so I know you understand how the little things…mean so much….thank you again

  5. saffy says:

    Ohhhh…i sooo should’ve read this when i was feeling less…emotional…beautiful…just like you…~chokes back a sob~ xxx

  6. saffy says:

    Yup…my children surprise & amaze me on a daily basis…~hugs~ xxx

  7. Charles says:

    “six year deep” I like that. Although it’s almost a bit scary when I sit here and think how “deep” I am.

  8. Duma Key says:

    Great post, nothing falls more pure that that love that you express, no strings, no ties, just pure love.

  9. lifethroughgreeneyes says:

    i just had to read this again…. there is no purer love than that which we have for our children…. and no one expresses it better than you do….i miss the “young” days of my boys especially when i read what your lil one does….and i dont have to tell you to treasure these moments…..smiles….you treasure her every minute of every day….and i love that
    and i love you too
    ~

    • summerrain63 says:

      dont ask me why I thought of this at this time of night…lol..but I even treasure how every time you call me….she suddenly has to poop….

      yep…those are the moments arent they aunt gracie…lol

  10. This is sugar-sweet, your kid is special. I mean really a child that says things like these, I think she’s an angel that ended up here on earth with the rest of us…… Makes my dream of having children that much stronger

  11. It is one of the hardest things in the world…we will ever face..the balance of showing a child the realities of life..and sheltering a child from the realities of life..Falls into that moment…when a child no longer believes in Santa Claus as one of life’s major traumatic events

    Summerain..Sometimes it is difficult to see someone we love struggling, in pain, or hurting. When this happens, we might feel like we need to be proactive and do something to ease their troubles. While others may want our help, it is important to keep in mind that we need to be sensitive to what they truly want in the moment, since it can be all too easy to get carried away and say or do more than is really needed. Allowing ourselves to let go and simply exist in the present with another person may actually provide a greater amount of comfort and support than we could ever imagine.

    Perhaps we can think back to a time when we were upset and needed a kind word, hug, or listening ear from someone else. As we remember these times, we might think of the gestures of kindness that were the most healing. It may have been gentle words such as “I care about you,” or the soothing presence of someone holding us and not expecting anything that were the most consoling. When we are able to go back to these times it becomes easier for us to keep in mind that giving advice or saying more than is really necessary is not always reassuring. What is truly comforting for another is not having someone try to fix them or their problems, but to just be there for them. Should we begin to feel the urge arise to offer advice or repair a situation, we can take a few deep breaths, let the impulse pass, and bring our attention back to the present. Even though we may want to do more, we do not have to do anything other than this to be a good friend.

    The more we are attuned to what our loved ones are feeling, the more capable we are of truly giving what is best for them in their hour of need. Keeping things simple helps us give the part of ourselves that is capable of the greatest amount of compassion—open ears and an understanding heart.

    You are a beautiful Mom..I can tell and your angel is so blessed to face the world with you by her side

    • summerrain63 says:

      I know I know what you are saying….it is so true…but its something I cannot help be it w/ my daughter or a friend….yes…I am there…I try to always be there…but and yes…there is a but…I want to try to take their pain away….to help….to do something….its my nature and I cant help it…lol

      Sometimes I know there is nothing I can do but be there….but in those cases I make some hot chocolate or pour a glass of wine…and sit quietly and hold them…..

      Thank you for the insightful comment….I appreciate you coming by G….smiles

  12. I need to stop by more often so no need to thank me your blog is such a heartfelt memoir to your beautiful soul…I like the hot chocolate or glass of wine remedy btw…

  13. calliopespen says:

    This is so touching, and as a mother I know this feeling and how it floods you. It sounds like you have a daughter blessed with wisdom beyond her years and a compassionate heart. Enjoy every second of it:)

  14. will says:

    thank you for sharing your beautiful moment with ur daughter, I’m a mother of a 6th yr old boy. And I felt that most of the time he suprised me with his wisdom words as if he is my guardian angel.
    http://01pretty.wordpress.com plz do visit my blog, my poetry world

Leave a Reply

