Sign of Love

I_Love_You__by_EverBrokenShe had learned it in kindergarten last year…pointing to her chest…then making that sign…pointing to me…

It means I love you…

I make the same sign…back to her with the exception at the end I hold up two fingers…I love you too…

She does it sometimes….around the house…gymnastics when I am watching her….she will send me the sign…I send it back…at karate class last year…shopping…at a restaurant…like a secret only her and I share…we send each other the sign….lol

They left me yesterday to go to a wedding up north….I had to work this weekend so I could not go…its still hard for me to watch her go places w/out me…I HAVE to watch her leave w/ her dad when he gets her…I have no choice…but I dont know why….when she leaves me….this feeling creeps up in my stomach…

I always  get her ready….clothes…bottle of water…activities for the car…whatever…then its like I cant seem to hug her tight enough….kiss her enough…and maybe its because I have lost people I love dearly….but images of things happening go through my mind….and I wont be with her to help her if they do…

Will a deer jump out?….will there be a drunk on the road?…will he not watch her close enough when she goes to the potty?….will she come home safely to me?…these thoughts race through my head….its my biggest fear in life…maybe when she drives away….that it will be the last time I see her…

I always say a silent little prayer… I hold her face in my hands…kiss her forehead…and I am sure to say it every time…I love you my baby…be safe…and I never let her see my fear…

Maybe yesterday….she sensed me wanting to go….or sensed my worry…I dont know…sometimes I think I think too much….lol…

But as I stood on the front porch….waiting for them to drive away….the back window went down….I saw her smiling face….and she gave me the sign…

12 thoughts on “Sign of Love

  1. saffy says:

    ~smiles~ No matter how big they get, me thinks we will always worry…

    i’m terrible when it gets to that curfew time of night…constantly looking out of the window… checking my mobile…unable to truly relax until they are home & safe…my daughter had a chance to see it from my point of view, when one day my son didn’t come home from school & had left his phone at home…not only did she see how worried i was but she was too…since that day whenever she is running a little late, she texts me to let me know she’s on her way…

    I wouldn’t trade those signs…the secret language we share with our children…the feelings they evoke…for the world

    Beautiful blog sweetness. ~hugs~ xxx

    • summerrain63 says:

      hugs you soooo tight….thank you…sometimes I think I am silly….I always worry so much about everything…so its nice hearing others do it too and that even with age it never stops…course dont know if my heart will take it….lol…I guess knowing how crazy the world is and how quickly life can be taken away….doesnt help me much either….but when she does those things….those little things like our sign….it makes me smile….it calms me a bit….

      course they both arrived home last night chattering away about their adventure….both of them….not sure who talks more….him or her…lol

  2. Jaymie says:

    According to my 72 year old mom…that never stops. Good to have a sign in place. 😉

  3. purple says:

    it’s simply what we do, as parents … think too much, worry too much, but never ever will anyone accuse us of loving too much. As heart-warming as it is splendidly expressed … a smile-inducing image that replaces the usual one … here’s your sign!!

    • summerrain63 says:

      oh my gosh..I giggled when I read here’s your sign….I forgot about that comedy routine….that was Jeff Foxworthy wasnt it?….guess I need one of those too sometimes…

      thank you…smiles and waves at ya

  4. Shadowplay says:

    Sniffle…this just about had me in tears… You described so perfectly my own heartache whenever I leave my little boy. Walking away no matter where he goes seems to leave a question inside… will I ever see him again? Thankfully he’s still young enough that I hope to work some of that out by the time he’s older.

    LOL, yeah right!

    • summerrain63 says:

      goodluck with that as he grows older….my worries only seem to get worse as she gets more independent and is venturing away from me more…experiencing more things…its scary to me…my fear…

      guess its called faith….

      ok…im rambling….lol….thanks for coming by…I enjoy your visits….

  5. Greeneyes says:

    loved this blog my rose….i have seen you with your daughter and when i read things like this it brings it all back….and we do worry, as parents, about so many things with our kids….at every age there are new challenges….and you know what it was like with Josh ….i didnt even have time to worry ..we just rolled into the latest and greatest “issue” of the moment….he and his tourettes kept me on my toes….but as you watched him grow too…you also saw the wonderful changes and strides he has made….those were the signs i saw…contentment and calmness and music~ wonderful signs….. kiss kiss lil miss…NOW… i will go to bed…night night from here….

    • summerrain63 says:

      Yes…I have watched as Josh has become quite the young man these past few years….smiles….good mothering skills maybe??….

      I am thinking….signs are good….hugs ya tight and hopes you are getting some rest….kiss kiss lil miss

Leave a Reply

