Moments

Touching the Surface

 

I have been feeling homesick lately….18 months now in Wisconsin and the cold is starting to set in for another winter and I miss Kentucky. Sometimes I just get hit with that feeling in my stomach….maybe its the thought I still have my home there and it is NOT selling….maybe its the weather….maybe its my family would be closer if I was there….holidays approaching….dont know…but I am homesick…

I have discussed the possibility of moving back….would he go with me….I think he would if I insisted…he loves me that much…but he doesnt really want to go…then there is my daughter…would she take another big move in her life…how traumatic would that be…I know he would have to go with us….neither one of us could survive without him…he is our life now…our family….

So I approached my daughter about moving…mentioning it….OH NO…adamantly she made it clear….she wanted no part of it….she loves it here…and true…she has thrived here…..making friends….finding strength with him in her life….finally that family she needed….~smiles~…she is happy here…I know that in my heart….but I still had to ask….for me….

Then came the moment….

You know those moments….when your children say or do something and you have nothing….you just look at them in awe or disbelief and you have nothing to reply….no response….you know they have beaten you or gotten the inside track cause….you find yourself with nothing….

We were in the car….talking….about moving…me pleading my case and reasoning….and finally I said….dont you ever get tired of being cold all the time??

The angelic voice floated to me from the back….serious….yet firm…

“Its never cold Mommy….when you are near family and friends…”

What??? You working for Hallmark now?? I know my eyes rolled and my mouth opened….and nothing came out…how do you answer that?? Her heart was speaking….and I could not tear it down….it was beautiful….sentimental…and my mouth shut….not another word about moving has been spoken from my lips…probably wont be mentioned again for awhile at least…but  I wont forget our car ride that day…

It was one of “those”….you know….the ones you always remember…

the Moments…

13 thoughts on “Moments

  1. Greeneyes says:

    smiles at “those moments”…..knowing your daughter the way i do…those moments will only become more frequent …more hilarious, im not so sure.. honey this one was priceless AND precious…
    ya know most of us go through life with kodak moments…..grins….your daughter has Hallmark moments…what mom could ask for more…..

    kiss kiss lil miss….gonna post a lil flame for ya …and then close my eyes to my own personal fireworks ……hugs you tight…thanks for the giggles tonight xoxo

    • summerrain63 says:

      sometimes we wonder….where do they get it?? but I cant complain…I love those “moments”…

      hmmm…a lil flame?? headin over as you know I like heat…smiles

      hugs you back and if I didnt share a giggle w/ you every day…my day would not be complete….

  2. Greeneyes says:

    and that picture is perfect for this blog….perfect!!

  3. saffy says:

    Out of the mouths of babes…& i know exactly where she gets it from…uh huh…hehehe. ~hugs you~ xxx

  4. saffy says:

    don’t try to kid a kidder…hehehe xxx

  5. Shadowplay says:

    My little guy is almost four, but I’m already getting some of those incredible moments you so beautifully described. Especially at red lights when I’m in a hurry and don’t need no damn red lights, lol. My little angelic voice was, “It’s coming mama, it’s coming…” 🙂

    (p.s. thanks for stopping by my blog… i’m enjoying reading your past posts as well. love the feel, the honesty of your writing).

    • summerrain63 says:

      Thank you for your kind comment….and for sharing a bit of your own little one…children are the treasures in our worlds…you are welcome here anytime and hope you dont mind that I enjoy your page a great deal…you may just help me learn to play with some shadows of my own….smiling at you…

  6. Jaymie says:

    When I look back I remember the moments more than the events. Put another sweater on, I think you might be home.

    • summerrain63 says:

      Yes Jaymie…

      I think you just might be right….I am home…

      Sooooo…sweaters…tissues….snow boots…gloves…hat…scarf…thermals…check…

      smiles and thank you always for taking the time…

  7. Such a smart little girl, you won’t win this one…

Leave a Reply

